I’ll kick the review off by saying this: I love Will Smith. Almost every movie he appears in I absolutely adore. So, with bold statements for Collateral Beauty such as: “the new Pursuit of Happiness,” I had no choice but to grab some tickets and feast my eyes upon this masterpiece.

Before I went, I did look at some reviews of it online and was shocked to discover that it had been absolutely torn apart by Hollywood critics and assigned a score of just 12% on Rotten Tomatoes.

This should be interesting, I thought as I walked in.

The movie follows Howard Inlet (Will Smith) and his struggle to deal with his life’s circumstances. However, (as seen in the trailer) some external help from ‘love,’ ‘time’ and ‘death’ (and his co-workers) aid in his recovery. The trailer of the movie was incredible and I was expecting another stellar Will Smith film, but I was disappointed. The premise of the film was there, and I loved the storyline. I also thought that Will Smith’s acting was terrific, even if it wasn’t the type of character we are used to seeing. But it just didn’t grab me like his other star roles have in the past.

I felt like the director(s?) were manipulating me, by using the saddest possible circumstances to pull on my heart-strings. In a way, I am glad that the movie was a box office flop and that it received such poor reviews. But on the flip side, I didn’t think it was as bad as the critics claim it to be. I enjoyed most of it, and I would watch it again.

I had good company too, but that’s beside the point.

I’d advise watching it, to make your own opinion of it. But don’t go in with high expectations.

Any questions, feel free to ask in the comments! 

-L.W

