The Aeronaut’s Windlass was the first Jim Butcher book I read, despite all the good things I had heard about the Dresden Files series. This book was recommended (and loaned) to me by my Auntie and Uncle, who have been consistent in providing me with quality reading material for a few months now. Read on for my review…

I think that there are many important aspects to consider when reviewing a book. Plot, writing style, characters etc… And for this book, there was something which really stood out to me:

The way Jim Butcher writes about action.

He makes you feel as though you are actually there, fighting alongside his characters or, in fact, fighting as his characters. For me, that was the stand out part of the novel. Because the storyline is largely comprised of action and battle sequences, his flair for writing these is displayed on numerous occasions.

His characters are likeable and relatable, which is always a bonus. My personal favourite was Captain Grimm, the leader of the ship Predator. But I also liked Rowl, the arrogant cat who played such an important role in the events of the story. As the reader, we discover more and more about the Spire, which is the weird and wonderful setting of the novel. I didn’t expect to like this book, but it appealed to my inner sci-fi geek and surprised me.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I would recommend it for people who enjoy action and sci-fi novels, although they aren’t usually my sort of thing and I still enjoyed it. Jim Butcher has a way of writing action sequences which is scarily good. I’d give it 4.5 out of 5 stars, but on Goodreads it’ll be getting a 4. (No half stars on Goodreads.)

Thanks for reading… Let me know what you thought of this review/this novel! 

 

