Everyone’s childhood is different. For some, being outdoors is important. In today’s day and age, technology is playing more and more of an influence. My childhood had its ups and downs but my love for reading was constant.

It began in my early years, when my parents read me a story each and every day. They didn’t read me anything particularly difficult of course, just enough to develop my literacy skills. I loved some of the books they had read when they were kids, such as: Enid Blyton’s The Folk of the Faraway Tree and Brer Rabbit, and Willard Price’s Adventure series.

When I was 8, I read Harry Potter. As I grew up, J.K Rowling released more Harry Potter books and I continued to love them. My vocabulary expanded and I continued to extend myself by reading books of a high level. I had a childhood outside of reading, of course, but of a night time I chose to immerse myself in a book instead of watching TV or playing video games like so many other children my age used to.

All this reading built the foundation for my love of literature today. Even during the earliest years of my life, when my parents would read to me, I was being introduced to one of life’s most important skills: communication.

Research shows that children (aged 4-5) who are read to frequently, perform higher on national assessment programs. And this isn’t difficult to believe. My story is just one example; many children would read even more than I did. But I’m grateful for my childhood. I count myself lucky that my parents value reading so highly and that they supported all my ambitions. All the trips to the second hand bookshop were worth it.

What do you think about this? Leave me a comment. 

-L.W

 

