Time is evasive, intrusive and non-inclusive. It doesn’t account for how much work you need to do or how you’re feeling. Perhaps the best adjective to describe it is relentless.

But it hasn’t always been this way. When I was younger, time was forgiving and friendly and I always seemed to have an abundance of it. I think we find that, as time progresses, we get it in shorter and shorter supplies. Our schedules fill up and our spare time dwindles. These past few years have flown by, and it’s scary.

Now, time is evasive. But if there’s something I’ve come to realise, it’s that time is consistent for everyone. No one can request more hours in a day, or more minutes in an hour. It is constant. It just takes someone truly skilful to wield it to their advantage. In the last few weeks, I’ve made an effort to record my daily activities and to document areas of improvement, where my time was wasted.

I organised my day to ensure I had enough time to:

  • Read
  • Write
  • Eat
  • Exercise

Because to me, reading and writing are essential building blocks for what I want to continue doing. As for eating and exercising, these are equally important. I have heard too many horror stories of reclusive writers, who develop severe conditions from living such a sedentary lifestyle. Everybody needs exercise to be healthy. Everybody needs good food to be healthy. And so I try to balance my time between these activities. My part-time job comes into play, obviously. But the more of these I can do, the more satisfied I think I’ll be.

The basic message I want to get across is to prioritize the activities you feel are essential. By making the most of your time, you are bettering yourself as a person and (in my case) bettering your mental health by doing what you love. Sometime life demands a lot from you, and it’s nice to know that you have budgeted time to do the things that matter.

Let me know what you think, comment below… 

L.W

Edit: When budgeting time allowances, I also allow for some free (or ‘wasted’) time. As John Lennon said: “time you enjoy wasting is not wasted at all.”

