I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, there’s no denying this. So, as expected, I went into this with high expectations. In short, I wasn’t disappointed.

As some of you may know, it reignites the concept of the Time Turner which we all saw and loved in the third instalment of the Harry Potter series. Without revealing too much of the story, it follows Harry’s son Albus, and his experiences with harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_coverDraco’s son Scorpius. These two were frustrating characters; young and oblivious. But the story worked.

The first half of the book was slow, as new characters had to be introduced and Rowling had to establish where she was picking up the story. But after the groundwork had been laid, it took off. I was immersed in it, as Harry struggled to maintain the relationship with his son. The concluding scenes of the play were satisfying, delving once again into the past using the Time Turner.

Overall, I was happy I read it. It pales in comparison to the others (as most books do), but still provided me with a good read. The characters and storyline are well developed and well written, but it lacked the pizazz of the other Harry Potter novels that I have come to know and love.

